Tehdassaari (Factory Island)
The Tehdassaari (“factory island”) milieu, with its old buildings, tells the story of the early years in the industrial history of the City of Nokia. The roots of the world-renowned Nokia company can be found on the banks of the Nokianvirta river, where K.F. Idestam established a groundwood mill 150 years ago. The company name came from the nearby Nokia Manor and the small settlement surrounding it.
Over 150 years, the small industrial community has grown into a bustling city of almost 35,000 people. This growth is based on diverse industrial expertise and the city’s ideal location in the evolving Tampere Region.
To increase electricity production, a canal and dam were constructed in 1913, turning Tehdassaari into an island. Today, Tehdassaari is a historically layered area of industrial buildings from different periods. Over the years, the oldest paper mill buildings have grown into a continuous entity of original red-brick construction.
The Tehdassaari milieu with its buildings, located on the river bank by the Souranderintie and Emäskoskentie roads, is a unique whole. Some of the factory buildings are still in use by businesses operating in Tehdassaari, so please mind the traffic when visiting the area.
The Tehdassaari area has signposts to assist visitors in familiarising themselves independently with the environment and architecture. A centre for creative activities, Tehdas 108, also awaits visitors in an old repair workshop located in the area, offering event venues and workspaces for rent, in addition to inviting visitors to enjoy diverse events or café services.